Enter your email address: Subscribe Pinnacle:    

SSC CGL 2017 Tier1 material: Latest Books and its Writer

SSC CGL 2017 Tier1 material: Latest Books and its Writer

SSC CGL 2017 Tier1 material: Latest Books and its Writer


Dear Students,

SSC CGL 2017 Tier-1 is going on. Many of you has already appeared in the examination. Overall analysis says that paper is on tougher side than that of last year, more so because duration is reduced to 60 minutes from earlier 75 mins. While analyzing general awareness section, it has been found that they are asking books and its writer consistently in all the shifts. So we have come with the list for last six months. We hope that it would be helpful for at least those who are yet to appear in the examination.

♦ The Emergency-Indian Democracy’s Darkest Hour – Surya Prakash (Chairman of Prasar Bharati)

♦ The Ministry of Utmost Happiness – Arundhati Roy

Indira Gandhi: A Life in Nature – Jairam Ramesh

♦ India might become an educationally failed nation – Ganesh Devy

♦ Beren And Luthien – J.R.R. Tolkien

♦ Confessions of a dying mind: The blind faith of atheism – Kiren Rijiju

♦ Winning like Virat: Think & Succeed like Kohli – Abhirup Bhattacharya

♦ Asha Parekh: The Hit Girl (Asha Parekh’s autobiography) – Khalid Mohamed

♦ Matoshree – Sumitra Mahajan (Lok Sabha Speaker)

♦ The Flaming Tresses of Draupadi – M Veerappa Moily

♦ Hope in a Challenged Democracy: An Indian Narrative – Ashwani Kumar

♦ Gandhi in Champaran – Dinanath Gopal Tendulkar

♦ Home of the Brave – Nitin A Gokhale & Brig S K Chatterji

♦ My Story– An autobiography of Michael Clarke (former international cricketer and captain of Australia)

♦ Rekha: The Untold Story – Yasser Usman

♦ The Rise of Sivagami: Book 1 of Baahubali – Anand Neelakanthan

♦ Numbers Do Lie – Akash Chopra (Former Indian cricketer)

♦ Hema Malini: Beyond the Dream Girl – Ram Kamal Mukherjee (Hema Malini Biography)

♦ Veerappan, Chasing the Brigand – K Vijay Kumar

♦ The Golden House – Salman Rushdie

♦ Akhada: The Authorized Biography of Mahavir Singh Phogat – Saurabh Duggal

♦ Black Water Lilies – Michel Bussi

♦ The Trespasser – Tana French

♦ Goras and Desis: Managing Agencies and the Making of Corporate India – Omkar Goswami

♦ Thamel: Dark Star of Kathmandu – Rabi Thapa

♦ Khullam Khulla – Rishi Kapoor’s Autobiography

♦ Jinnah often came to our house – Kiran Doshi (Hindu Prize 2016 Winner)

♦ The People’s President: Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam – S M Khan

♦ The Adivasi Will Not Dance – Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar

♦ Kalkatta – Kunal Basu

♦ Half of What I Say – Anil Menon

♦ The Island of Lost Girls – Manjula Padmanabhan

♦ Son of the Thundercloud – Easterine Kire

♦ From Mumbai to Durban: India’s Greatest Tests – S Giridhar and VJ Raghunath

♦ The Untold Vajpayee: Politician and Paradox – Ullekh NP

♦ My Odyssey: Memoirs of the Man Behind the Mangalyaan Mission – K Radhakrishnan with Nilanjan Routh

♦ The Front Page Murders – Puja Changoiwala

♦ Faith, Unity and Discipline: The ISI of Pakistan – Hein G Kiessling

♦ A Full Night’s Thievery: Stories – Mitra Phukan

♦ A Life in Science – CNR Rao

♦ The Sellout – Paul Beatty (Man Booker Prize 2016 Winner)

♦ The Pigeon Tunnel – John Le Carre

♦ Cambridge Company – Farrukh Dhondy

♦ Pakistan: Courting the Abyss – Tilak Devasher

♦ An Unsuitable Boy – Karan Johar with Poonam Saxena

A few more books:

→ Minister of Railways Shri Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu released the book titled ‘Indian Railway- The weaving of a National Tapestry’ jointly authored by Shri Bibek Debroy (Member, NITI Aayog) Shri Sanjay Chadha (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Commerce) & Ms. Vidya Krishnamurthi.

→ President Pranab Mukherjee has received the first copy of two books ‘Mann Ki Baat-A Social Revolution on Radio’ and ‘Marching with a Billion-Analysing Narendra Modi’s Government at Mid term’ at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi

Ex-Uttarakhand CM Pokhriyal authors book on Vajpayee ‘Yug Purush, Bharat Ratna, Atal Ji’

Below are some of very prestigious prizes:

  • Saraswati Samman 2016 – Mahabaleshwar Sail (Konkani) – “Hawthan” (Novel)
  • Vyas Samman 2016 – Surinder Verma for poetry collection “Kaatna shami ka vriksha padma-pankhuri ki dhar se”
  • Jnanpith Award 2016 – Shankha Ghosh (Baengali)
  • Moortidevi Award 2016 – MP Veerendrakumar (Malayalam – for his work – Hymavathabhoovil)
  • Bharatiya Jnanpith Navlekhan Award 2016 – Shraddha (short story: Hawa Mein Phadphadati Chitthi), Ghyansham Kumar Devansh (poem: Akash Mein Deh)
  • Kalinga Literary Award – Legendary poet and essayist Haraprasad Das was conferred with the covetous
  • Pulitzer Prize 2017 Winners (Category – Book – Author)
    • Fiction: The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead
    • History: Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy – Heather Ann Thompson
    • Biography: The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between – Hisham Matar
    • Poetry: Olio – Tyehimba Jess





To get all benefits students should join Pinnacle SSC CGL Online Coaching Course 2017 and 2018 or SSC CGL Hard Drive Course.

All The best !!

SSC CGL 2017 & 2018 Online Coaching New Batch – Click Here

You can also visit our You tube Channel :: 

English: Spot The Error, 600 most important questions.

Now Get All Notifications And Updates In Your E-mail Account Just Enter Your E-mail Address Below And Verify Your Account To Get More Updates :

Enter your email address: Subscribe Pinnacle:

 Mission 400  |  Online Coaching  |  SampleVideo Lectures  |  Hard Drive Course  |  Tier 1 90 Tests series with videos    |    Tier 1 90 Tests Series without Videos  |   Facebook group   |  Facebook Page     |     Youtube Channel